Konshuu no Renai ~Azumanga Daioh’s Sakaki and Kaorin~

May 25, 2006

Appearing late this week (I'm developing a trend for lateness here, maybe I'm just not suited for regular weekly posting -_-), one of my favourite couples that I'd almost forgotten about. Luckily, the occurrence again of Wednesday and Konshuu no Renai forced me to dredge my memory for things I had read (and, unfortunately, written for) in the past.

Kaorin x Sakaki is one of my favourite couples, as Azumanga Daioh was one of my earliest anime and definitely a benchmark setter as far as quality was concerned. Also, although the Kaorin x Sakaki one sided "sempai" type relationship is nothing new, Kiyohiko Azuma executes it in such an amusing way that I can help being charmed by how much Kaorin likes Sakaki. (And then ending up disappointed as Kaorin gets slowly phased out towards the end of the series)

One of the reasons I love this relationship (and writing for/reading about this relationship) is that people can really empathise with Kaorin's position. I mean, who hasn't had a huge crush in their teen years and virtually stalked someone for ages? Well, I haven't (ahem); but the sympathy for Kaorin is still there, and the want to write fiction that will bring them together in some way and make Sakaki see just how much Kaorin is crushing on her is enormous.

My favourite Azumanga fiction by far (although I will be making her head swell up suika size to say so) is Azumanga Plus Six by LunaMurphy. Although not strictly a Kaorin/Sakaki fiction per se, it does deal with that relationship, and the ending feels infinitely more satisfying, simply because it feels realistic.

Surprisingly though, since the pairing is virtually canon, there isn't that much fiction for it (only 3 on http://www.shoujoai.com), most given over to Yomi/Tomo and Yukari/Nyamo. However, the best of the bunch by far is Twinkle Twinkle by Cyberano, which is well written and contains just the right amount of angst (although I am a big fan of angst, some of the fanfiction goes way too far!) Although, talking about angst, if you're into it, On the Road is very well written (but very sad).

And researching just now, I've just realised that the fanbase has grown significantly on fanfiction.net, so I might well post an update to this post tomorrow with any good ones I find.

Ix

6 Responses to “Konshuu no Renai ~Azumanga Daioh’s Sakaki and Kaorin~”

  1. Ben Rose Says:

    I agree so much I love this couple so much and you really have to sympathise with Kaorin and here love for Sakaki.

  2. some person Says:

    kaorin and sakaki are both girls right… I don’t think sakaki would like kaorin back, but you never know…

  3. kitaro Says:

    I think Sakaki likes Kaorin ..
    but its not obvious ..

  4. kitaro Says:

    I think Sakaki likes Kaorin too..
    But it is not obvious because Sakaki is
    too quite..and.., She didn’t have time to show it for
    Kaorin ..

  5. QueuefPhifigh Says:

    Hello.
    baseball spring training tickets HERE
    And Bye.


  6. So I think effective groups and movements say “these are our values and if you sympathise with them, come on in.


Leave a Reply

