Boredompost: A spot of anime blogging mathematics

June 30, 2006


Bored and seemingly devoid of commentage, I decided to work out by extrapolation how many hits per post Jason must get based on how many comments he gets. This is pure boredom speculation and entirely open tohaving the mathematical smackdown laid upon it.

On my humble blog, I selected 5 of my most commented posts and worked out using WordPress.com’s page hit counter how many views per comment on average I get.

“Ten anime I am ashamed to like” – Comments 13, Views 496 = 38.2 views/comment

“1 month old…” – Comments 11, Views 114 = 10.4

“Ero Game overload…” – Comments 6, Views 324 = 54

“Yuri Dai Batturu…” – Comments 7, Views 287 = 41

“Top 10 Yuri Underdogs” – Comments 8, Views 336 = 42

Average = 37.12 Views per comment.

Also, according to my page hit counter, WordPress.com’s post hit counter underestimates the total amount of hits by about 2/5 (i.e. collectively, the post hits make up about 3/5 of the daily total)

Therefore that gives us a views per comment of about 62.

Thinking about it, that’s not too bad – that I need to get approximately 62 views of a post before somone posts a comment.

Extrapolating this factor to Jason’s blog, he commonly gets about 30 comments for one of his normal posts which works out at about – 1860 views per post! (Though I would probably place it a lot more than that ^_^) and his recent Suzumiya Haruhi post which reaped 87 comments would have required 5394 page views! – numbers I can only dream of ^_^;;

Anyway, this has been a complete waste of time brought to you by yuribou. You may now get back to your regularly scheduled lives.

6 Responses to “Boredompost: A spot of anime blogging mathematics”

  1. Os Says:

    … lawl. It’s a wii-mote.

  2. tj han Says:

    Good pic. I will take it. From Danbooru anyway right?

    Actually, as long as there’s discussion, the number of comments is exponantial. The comments propagate more comments. But I wouldn’t be surprised if its 5k. That isn’t a really high number.

    If you want uber animeblog stats, see Random Curiosity and its 200+ comments episode summaries. Most of these comments are encouragement or meaningless and that probably means a truck load more people than 5k view it. I would say 15k?

  3. jpmeyer Says:

    I don’t think that there’s any correlation at all. Some of my most-read posts only got a few comments. My post on the sex in video games conference had like 250 views, but 17 comments, while my post on the Kiminozo eroge had about 1,000 hits and 1 comment.


  4. […] Today, we have: – the original post on Anime on my mind – orz’ answer to that… Damn, that was bitchy *hrrr* But honestly, I found that highly entertaining… apparently I’m a faithful reader of Jason’s blog myself *hrr* – lolikitsune’s post. Arrr, loved it! Also notice the gorgeous blog title and especially the subtitle *g* – a tentatively nice post on Star Crossed Anime… a nice blog, but for some reason it doesn’t live up to my expectation. Somehow, the person is *too* nice for my taste – not exactly funny and way too diplomatic. In real life, I like these kind of people a lot though *hrr* – a diplomatic person again *ugh*… on Renegades. Never read the blog though. – another post with “blogging mathematics”, mainly interesting because of the Yuki + Wii pic *g* – tj_han’s tripleman answer. (Honestly, I’m scared of those triplemans XD) […]


  5. […] Today, we have: – the original post on Anime on my mind – orz’ answer to that… Damn, that was bitchy *hrrr* But honestly, I found that highly entertaining… apparently I’m a faithful reader of Jason’s blog myself *hrr* – lolikitsune’s post. Arrr, loved it! Also notice the gorgeous blog title and especially the subtitle *g* – a tentatively nice post on Star Crossed Anime… a nice blog, but for some reason it doesn’t live up to my expectation. Somehow, the person is *too* nice for my taste – not exactly funny and way too diplomatic. In real life, I like these kind of people a lot though *hrr* – a diplomatic person again *ugh*… on Renegades. Never read the blog though. – another post with “blogging mathematics”, mainly interesting because of the Yuki + Wii pic *g* – tj_han’s tripleman answer. (Honestly, I’m scared of those triplemans XD) […]


  6. us shipping address-International Shipping Worldwide and USA Package Forwarding. Create and start using your account in minutes. Review, choose, consolidate, discard and ship your packages. http://www.myusshopnship.com
    Your own shopping address in the USA that you can monitor online.


Leave a Reply

