Super Overview Slideshow SOS-Dan! Suzumiya Haruhi Picture Wrapup

July 8, 2006

I know I’m slightly late on the uptake for SHnY wrapup posts, but I had to get home and access to the rest of the episodes ^_^.

I thought that to really do the series justice, I would trawl through all 14 episodes and post 14 screenshots, one from each episode that encompass the essence of the greatness of the series. And so I did. It was difficult, I can tell you…I am still undecided on some episodes with more than one particularly awesome scene, but I think these 14 pictures sum up the series pretty well.

In summary, Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu is a mould-breaking series, and extremely refreshing to watch, even with the flamers on 4chan spamming “ZOMG HARUHI SUCKS LOL”. Every episode might not have been awesomely great, but as a series, it worked on a level that not many shows have reached (I’m convinced that even the great Neon Genesis Evangelion had quite a few “filler” episodes (And that’s not even counting the arse-worthy last 5 ^_^;;).

KyoAni should be proud at the huge attention to detail that they went to to make this series the way it is. If it came out on DVD this side, I would definitely buy it. Anyway. Here’s the summary, and hoping for a second season!!

Episode 1 (Episode 11.5 – Asahina Mikuru no Bouken Episode 00)

Awesome “pull” episode (to pull in potential watchers). We are unwittingly subjected to spoilers for the entire series and Itsuki’s terrible acting and lengthy nonsensical explanations O_o. MIKURU BEAM!!! just about won over the shot when Shamisen started talking and Yuki hit him on the head with her wand.

Episode 2 (Episode 1 – The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya I)

Haruhi’s hair is probably one of the awesome points of this episode, especially because they purposefully go for the “copypasta different hair on the same head animation technique”. This episode is also the first one we see the “Hare Hare Yukai” dance. ED sequences will never be the same again. Thanks to SOS-dan for providing girlfriend with the dance steps O_O.

Episode 3 (Episode 2 – The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya II)

Severe lack of good screenshots in this episode, although I loved this line. Also, I think, conclusive evidence that Mikuru is NOT Kyon’s sister. Mikuru abuse by the Computer Society President was also a high point, especially Haruhi’s axe kick. Awesome.

Episode 4 (Episode 7 – The Boredom of Haruhi Suzumiya)

Tsuruya shows up again, but fails to get a screenshot ^_^. I promise I will get her one by the end of the review! More spoilers get shown, and clever people will have noticed that Yuki is now minus her glasses. Yuki’s “only catching the balls that are heading directly at her” shot is only just edged out by the whole 30 second shot of Haruhi randomly dancing on third base. Priceless.

Episode 5 (Episode 3 – The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya III)

EXPOSITION EPISODE! Loads of awesomeness in this episode. Haruhi gets called “God” by Itsuki, much to Kyon’s chagrin, and Yuki finds her love for libraries. But how can those compete when Mikuru says “Kinsoku Jikou desu~” and winks. No wonder Haruhi spends most of her time at SOS-Dan costume (and normal) raping Mikuru O_O.

Episode 6 (Episode 9 – Remote Island Syndrome Part 1)

Yay, the essential beach episode! Asidesfrom the OMG DEAD at the end, nothing can compete with Yuki reading while waterskiing. Yuki just gets more and more awesome each episode ^_^;;

Episode 7 (Episode 8 – Mysterious Sign)

Random filler episode with FIGHTAGE! Apart from Yuki’s Lambda driver impression and Itsuki’s Full Metal Panic! references (SECONDO RAIDO!), You just can’t beat “Scarab healed your wounds!”. I was expecting a little green number to pop out of the cave cricket after that. Priceless.

Episode 8 (Episode 10 – Remote Island Syndrome Part 2)

How many people worked this out from the beginning? I can honestly say that I was pretty suspicious when Arakawa said that they had only been working for a week, but I didn’t guess the whole thing O_o. And for the fans – Haruhi does a Phoenix Wright impression and wins all.

Episode 9 (Episode 14 – Someday in the Rain)


Controversial but awesome episode. Top of the picks were Yuki covering Mikuru’s dignity with her head and her books and Haruhi offering Kyon to share an umbrella at the end. But top of the list is when Tsuruya spins by Kyon at the lockers and delicately places a handkerchief on his head. (See, I told you she would show up sometime ^_^) Arigatousu!

Episode 10 (Episode 4 – The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya IV)

Obvioucly the highlight of this episode is the Yuki fight, and everyone’s seen the screenshot of her blocking the knife while Kyon looks on in surprise. But for me, the most awesome part is when a speared Yuki pulls out one of the metal poles, and throws it down; and before it touches the ground, it transmutes into a desk. Attention to detail, my friends. Also, dare I mention adult Mikuru’s cleavage shot?

Episode 11 (Episode 13 – Day of Sagittarius)


LOL at this entire episode, especially the 8 bit MIDI soundtrack. Unfortunately, I have to do yet another screenshot of Yuki being awesome, though it was a toss up between the shot of her waving the mouse in the air or her pounding away on the keyboard like a madwoman. So in the end I went for this. Permission Y/N?

Episode 12 (Episode 12 – Live a Live)

O_O How can I even begin to select a scene from this episode. Second in line was definitely Tsuruya’s “Doesn’t this look megas good on me? Nyoro”, but beaten hands down by when Haruhi starts singing “LOST MY MUSIC”. In the first verse she winks, and 48 men in the audience have to be taken to hospital for nose related blood loss.

Episode 13 (Episode 5 – The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya V)

Another Exposition episode with less screenshot opportunity, though Loli Haruhi was obviously a high point. In the end, I went with the scene when haruhi expounds the entire reason for life and the world being the way it is, and for once, Kyon is speechless as the train whistles by in the background. Artsy.

Episode 14 (Episode 6 – The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya VI)

The buildup…the final episode!!! And Kyon saves the world! This line has to be the best line ever said to save the world in any televised series ever. “Ponytails turn me on” indeed ^_^;;

And that concludes the SOS – Super Overview Slideshow!

I hope you have all enjoyed it and been outraged at all the scenes that I missed out, but don’t worry, hopefully I’ll do another wrapup like this for another series and you can beat me down with flames that time as well…

Until then

Mata ne-su!

3 Responses to “Super Overview Slideshow SOS-Dan! Suzumiya Haruhi Picture Wrapup”

  1. love Says:

    yaay love you are great, haruhi was great and the suupaa ovabiew sriidoshoow cheered me up no end (tho i dont really remember episode 3/2). Ohw I put sesame oil on my salad >_

  2. Ponytails Says:

    Don’t I turn everyone on?

  3. soranomukou Says:

    I think that it doesn’t really disprove anything about Asahina being Kyon’s sister…


Leave a Reply

